• Don't miss out on all the fun! Register on our forums to post and have added features! Membership levels include a FREE membership tier.

154 Alpha vs Twin Rail 162-5 vs Matryx

Mar 7, 2017
West Bend, WI
I currently own a 21’ Mtn Cat 154 alpha with Elevate. Have about 1,200 miles on it. It’s my second mtn sled and I’m still learning. I’ve come a long way but I’m wanting to become better. I ride with all Matryx and Axys 165 sleds. There’s things I like about my Alpha on more of the open hillsides but I still struggle in the trees with decisions on lines and keeping momentum. I’ve considered changing it to a twin rail with elevate 162-5 or getting a Matryx. Had the opportunity to ride a 165 pro slash and I noticed you give up some playfulness but have more time to make decisions and it’s more forgiving. How would an elevated twin rail compare to the Matryx? Am I better off selling the sled and going a different direction? Any input is greatly appreciated..

CISC0

Lifetime Membership
Premium Member
Jan 3, 2010
PNW=WA
Have you ridden your sled without the elevate ….

IDspud

Lifetime Membership
Premium Member
Nov 26, 2007
Oakley, ID
Single rail 165 will allow more forgiveness on momentum in trees than 154. Let’s you crawl around a lot more when needed.

Octanee

Lifetime Membership
Nov 15, 2010
Cranbrook Bc
No I didn’t, put the elevate on it before the first trip.
I put an elevate on my alpha and removed it. People all say what they wanna say but I could NOT tell a difference aside from it made it harder to get on edge. Especially on the garage, It raised the center of mass/gravity and made the sled feel like a twin rail. I was able to compare with another same sled (both 2019 alpha 165).