• Don't miss out on all the fun! Register on our forums to post and have added features! Membership levels include a FREE membership tier.

KC9 w/159... track repl. help, recomendations, referals?

B

BikerPepe`

Nov 2, 2011
N.E. Washington
Hey guys. Was out covering up the sled the other day and noticed I threw a lug sometime last year. Must have been road skipping or something because I never made it out to the hills last year and honestly didn't expect to have any damage to repair before heading up this year. :face-icon-small-con

So, the lug came out whole, right down to expose the canvas. I'm pretty new to this and thinking I probably shouldn't be trusting this track anymore. It would be less of a concern if the lug busted off in 1/2, but taking all the rubber around it's base... I'm just not sure about it.

Here's my bigger concern. How do I tell what size track is on there. Is it stamped on the track somewhere, that I missed? Where should I be looking?

Last year, I tried to replace my broken rails, so I went to iceage and ordered a 162 for the '04 KC9. They didn't have any in stock but whipped one up and got it out to me. It was another few months before I could afford to get it down to the shop and put it on, while getting some other work done. When we tried to mount it... we found that it was about 3" to long. Rather than call iceage and have a replacement swap re-shipped for a "custom" order, we trimmed it to fit the track and called it good.

Now... having bought a 162" that was 3" to long, I can only assume the existing track is a 159". When I bought the sled it was advertised as a 162x16x2.5... so now I don't know what to think.

I assume someone either swapped the hood of a King Cat onto a Mountain Cat chassis, or swapped the track out from under an MC parts sled.

I'd really like to get some ideas on what could have been used or done and what I've really got, before I try to find another track.