• Don't miss out on all the fun! Register on our forums to post and have added features! Membership levels include a FREE membership tier.

Sealing the DD??

M
Feb 20, 2008
Spokane
So I went to go change my DD oil and I just took the cover off so I could still check out all the guts (it was clean inside:D) but didnt have to pull it all the way out. This is my first time with the DD being new to cat this year so im not too familiar with it yet.

Anyway I just had a question on putting the cover back on. I was told just to use RTV silicone to seal it, but it seems like there should be a better way to me. When you squish it together (tighten the torque bolts) wont some of the silicone get inside the case?? Is there a gasket I can get for it??
Thanks in advance
MarcS

m8magicandmystery

Lifetime Membership
Jan 20, 2008
Yukon
yea they have a gasket now for them...but i just really cleaned the surface and appied a thin film to both surfaces and let set up a few minutes and a great seal...i used the copper high heat orange silicone and like i said...thin apllications on both surfaces and none will squeeze in...the permatex red gasket spray is good stuff as well

M
Feb 20, 2008
Spokane
yea they have a gasket now for them...but i just really cleaned the surface and appied a thin film to both surfaces and let set up a few minutes and a great seal...i used the copper high heat orange silicone and like i said...thin apllications on both surfaces and none will squeeze in...the permatex red gasket spray is good stuff as well

Ok thanks, I think I might try to get that gasket. too bad nobody's open sun and mon :(. Anybody know of dealer in Spokane that would carry these? The one dealer in Colville had never heard of them

K
Jan 19, 2008
Utah
1211, yamabond, or the above mentioned loctight sealers.
If you buy the gasket, you need the gasket kit.
The kit consists of shims to take up the gap that the gasket leaves.
I would not install a gasket without the proper shims.