• Don't miss out on all the fun! Register on our forums to post and have added features! Membership levels include a FREE membership tier.

Moving to Alaska from Iceland?

Hello all.
I'm 22 year old Icelandic boy, looking for new place to live in, after the economy collapsed it is hard to be a snowmobiler in Iceland(specialy if i want to do some mods :) just want to try new things and since i'm a snowmobiler USA or Canada is my only intrests. Also i thing the culture is very similar specialy in the northen areas.
My education is called Marine Engineer but it is no bacelor or master degree involved. i also have the mechanic licence for welding, metal work, fixing hevy equipment and e.c.t.
i started on sea 13 year old so i have some experience in that area

I have few question for you locals aboat job finding and migrating

1. How hard is it to get job in Alaska, if i'm hard working culd i get fishing job there?

2. Can I go there, get a job, and then get the green card, or do i have to get the green card first?

3. If i get a decent job how is it to make ends meet in there, after rent, insurance, car, Snowmobile and ect. (no kids or wife ;D )

4. How much can imnigrant like me i expect to earn?

Thanx for any help

Last edited:
I don't think I can answer your questions, Gylfi, but welcome. You might try applying for work before you come here. With an engineering degree, you might get your emplyer to handle, or at least assist, the immigration process. There are still jobs in Alaska, though we are not unscathed by the recession. If you do get a job, expenses are not so bad, and you should be able to afford food, car and sled, even with a modest income.

Good luck,
John

1st off, welcome.

I have been to Iceland a couple of times myself, beautiful place. I spent some time in Keflavik, and did some traveling around the country. Truly unique place, and would love to go back sooner or later.