• Don't miss out on all the fun! Register on our forums to post and have added features! Membership levels include a FREE membership tier.

New rider, buy new leftover pro rmk or snow check new axys?

tmanker

Lifetime Membership
Jan 11, 2013
NW Iowa
First of all, I appreciate your time. I'm a 32 year old engineer and new to the sport. My snowmobiling experience includes one trip to Togwotee a couple years ago. That's it. The first day was a major struggle, but days 2 and 3 were much better. Fast forward a couple years and I'm looking to get in to the sport long-term. I have a major problem taking time off from work and if I buy a new sled, I know it will force me to take a couple trips out west each winter. I'm sticking with Polaris because I rented a M8 and a rmk and had much better luck and feedback with the rmk. A local polaris dealer has a new leftover 2015 pro rmk for $11,500. I'm considering buying that sled with 0% interested for 60 months. I'm also considering buying a new axys as well. For a beginner, what would you recommend all things considered? Thank you.

turboless terry

Premium Member
Jan 15, 2008
Big Timber, MT
Buy an axys. They are that much better than a pro. You will be able to find a hold over or a slightly used snow checked axys for what they want for the 15. They only thing you won't get on used is 0%.

T

Toad face killah

Sep 27, 2010
Lake Almanor, Ca
The Axys is a very mtn specific sled as compared to the 2015. As a new rider, I think you'd be very happy on a 2015 and save a few bucks to take an extra trip out west. But the price you stated for a new 2015 pro seems way high. You should be able to get one in the mid 9,000s. gently used ones with only 500 miles are selling in the 7,000s. long story short, prices on the pro chassis has dropped liked crazy since the axys was introduced

sledhed

Lifetime Membership
Premium Member
Dec 19, 2001
Lolo, Montana