• Don't miss out on all the fun! Register on our forums to post and have added features! Membership levels include a FREE membership tier.

2003 800 RMK losing power after a few minutes

T
Apr 1, 2008
Bend, OR
Yesterday i went out by myself and enjoyed some of the seemingly bottomless powder we've got right now.

I had a problem though. once i got up the "trail" (one track through the new snow) and to the area where i started playing and boondocking, i would start to lose power after a few minutes of playing.

The first time it happened scared me because it was at the top of a particularly long full-throttle pull. I was just starting to think to myself, "man, this is a long pull, gotta be building some serious heat." Of course as soon as i thought that the engine started to lose power and i figured i was starting to seize.

Well i don't think it seized, it pulls over smoothly and after sitting for a while and cooling down, it ran just fine. So i shrugged and went back to riding. But every several minutes the same thing would happen. Lose power, sit, wait, go fine again.

So now i wonder if my carbs were icing up and sitting allowed them to thaw out again. THere was a little bit of snow in the airbox.

Here's what i'm running:
03 800RMK stock engine
SLP single pipe
SLP intake

I had some problems last time out that i thought may have been water in the fuel, so i added some ISO Heat brand fuel additive that is supposed to absorb water (isopropyl alcohol). Then when i went to fuel up, everyplace was closed except the Arco station, which i typically avoid due to rumors of sub-standard fuel quality. Since I had to get Arco gas, i also dumped in a little octane booster. I put in about 5 gallons of the Arco gas which was labeled as being up to 10% ethanol. And i had maybe 1/4 tank of 92 octane ethanol-free fuel from the last ride.

So i had quite a cocktail in the gas tank.