• Don't miss out on all the fun! Register on our forums to post and have added features! Membership levels include a FREE membership tier.

retractable wheel kits for 2021 Freeride Turbo( DS3-E skis ) ???

P
Dec 5, 2021
Lake Tahoe
i've got a 2021 Freeride Turbo 165 , and i'm looking for retractable wheels for it. Neither RollerSki nor Rouski make a kit that is compatible.
According to kimpex, 'maybe next year'.
according to the parts list, the 2021 FreeRide comes with DS3-E skis. I want to be able to ride from my house about a mile to the trailhead.

if i knew more about the parts dimensions, it seems possible that the kits for the DS2 skis which do exist might be modified to fit. But i'm new to this. I know everything about motorcycles, but nothing much about snowmobiles. Which of course, made the Freeride Turbo the obvious choice.)

Anyone have any ideas on a compatible kit or know the skis(DS2 vs DS3-E) well enough to know if it'd be possible to modify the DS2 kit to fit the DS3-E ?

thx

jcjc1

Premium Member
Mar 8, 2019
Riding on bare ground?
I think your sled will overheat.

wideopenbeau

Lifetime Membership
Dec 19, 2009
Milky Way.
Ya I would not run that far on a wheel setup like that. They do look like a quality product but still. I don’t think they would last very long going that far and and as jcjc1 said you will prob overheat in a quick fashion especially if you let it warm up like you should before taking off.

• Sad
Reactions: brad1960

jcjc1

Premium Member
Mar 8, 2019
i'd be running with the snowflap, factory and tunnel mount scratchers assuming you have snow on the ground but then you don't want to be constantly stopping to pull your scratchers up when on bare ground/concrete as that will get old real quick.

I (we) understand the desire to be able to ride from your garage/shop and not have to load-up your machine everytime you ride. It can be a pain. However....