• Don't miss out on all the fun! Register on our forums to post and have added features! Membership levels include a FREE membership tier.

Most efficient snowmobile track? Lowest durometer?

N
Mar 22, 2011
I'm taking part in a university project where we are building a robot weighing about 500 pounds. This robot will be running in the snow and have tracks on both its sides (tank style). The robot will run on solar power and will only reach a maximum speed of 5 mph.

We are looking into running snowmobile tracks on this robot but most of them seem to resist flexing and offer too much rolling resistance. What we are looking for is the track that will take the least energy to go around our track system. From what I've read it seems that I want a very soft durometer track, but I've little experience with snowmobiles. What would be the most efficient (least rolling resistance) track to run on this robot?

Note1: The longer the track is the easier it will be for us to incorporate it into the design.

Note2: I've experience working with cars and access to a good machine shop.

tdbaugha

Lifetime Membership
Apr 18, 2009
USA
We run a Camoplast Cobra track on our SAE clean snowmobile challenge sled. I've been told it is the lightest and will be the most efficient. It's only a 121" though.

If you want a longer track, I would suggest getting a 141, 153, or 162 inch Camoplast PowerClaw. Cut the track lugs down to you desired size since they are 2.25 inches stock. You can also port the track with 1 1/8" holes to decrease weight and rolling resistance.

Both these tracks are 15 inches wide stock. Since you're only going 5mph, you could cut away a lot of the stock material and still be very durable. Contact Camoplast, they may be able to tell you where and where not to cut away material.

N
Mar 22, 2011
Thanks! And just a few more doubts...