• Don't miss out on all the fun! Register on our forums to post and have added features! Membership levels include a FREE membership tier.

Building Industry Insanity

Mjunkie

Lifetime Membership
Jan 19, 2008
Ogden, Utah
So for years I use to work selling building materials (lumber, doors, windows etc.). I am a machinist now but still have friends who are still doing it. Today one of them sent me a text telling me about the insanity going on right now.

When I get a chance I'll update this with everything he told me but as a good example of what's going on. 7/16 OSB 4 x 8 sheets (used on roofs, exterior walls among other things) will soon be $33 a sheet. The price always fluctuated and sometimes quite a bit. I remember selling it 20yrs ago for $4.95 a sheet (yes I know 20yrs is awhile ago), but in a year or two after that, it would be up to $12 a sheet. Sometimes it changed close to that much in the same year. It is all about supply and demand. Well, because of COVID, there have been supply issues and demand has gone nuts because everyone was stuck at home so we all got the great idea of getting that remodel done we've always talked about. What does that mean? Now is a TERRIBLE time to remodel or build. I know contractors here in Utah who have told me they are turning away work because they're booked solid for most of the next year (yes NEXT year).

Hawkster

Lifetime Membership
Apr 22, 2010
AK
Those in charge have an agenda and we're going to pay for it dearly . I will be interested to see your postings , please , you think it's expensive there :)
I'm still waiting on a couple of Amphibious builds in your neck of the woods , covid BS has become a wonderful tool . Almost got the main roof on this , the beetle kill was/is so devastating that logs are being shipped up for new builds .

IMG_20210122_114055734.jpg

J

Jaynelson

Nov 26, 2007
Nelson BC