• Don't miss out on all the fun! Register on our forums to post and have added features! Membership levels include a FREE membership tier.

broken jack shaft

brokenbones4

Lifetime Membership
Feb 9, 2008
Edmonton
On my last ride i just got back onto the trail heading for the truck when i noticed my sled would viberate alot at 3/4 or more throttle. I stopped and opened the pannels to check my belt (it lasted all year) so i thought one of my motor mount bolts broke again, but they where fine. I started riding again and sure enough started shaking with speed, so i stoped to check my track. there were no rips or ice build up in the tunnel so i rode back to the truck slow. After rebuilding my primary i started my sled up on my stand and finally noticed the bent shaft. I put the shaft in the lathe at work to find the high spot and used a 1' snipe to see if it would bend and sure enough with very little pressure it broke right at the bearing. im just glad it didnt decide to let go out in the hills

picture.php

those two small circles where all that was holding

M
Sep 21, 2002
Edmonton
so what's it filled with... some sort of epoxy or plastic?
I would take that back to your dealer and see what excuse they will come up with to not warranty it..LOL

brokenbones4

Lifetime Membership
Feb 9, 2008
Edmonton
its an 08 xp 146, about 1200 miles, i installed a team secondary at about 600 miles. unfortunatly i bought the setup off ebay so no chance of warrenty. i belive big john has a set up so i can run a team on the stock shaft or the qrs.

brokenbones4

Lifetime Membership
Feb 9, 2008
Edmonton
im not sure on the make of the shaft, i bought the setup off ebay so cant try for warrenty. i might sell my secondary if anyone is interested!

M
Dec 10, 2007
BC
is its a team secondary, chances are its a team shaft. They sell them as a kit... Thought about buying one, sure glad I didn't by the look of that. Thanks DJ, haha

brokenbones4

Lifetime Membership
Feb 9, 2008
Edmonton