• Don't miss out on all the fun! Register on our forums to post and have added features! Membership levels include a FREE membership tier.

Boondocking in central/eastern UP

T

TurboMatt

Mar 23, 2008
I have been boondocking in the UP for several years now, but all of my riding has been in the weatern UP. Mainly, White Pine/Silver City/Rockland area. I mainly ride forests & logging roads in the Ottawa National Forest. Some gas and power lines.

It always seems that towards the later part of the season the central part of the UP starts getting more snow. I see there is a rather large National forest in the central part of the state. The Hiawatha National Forest I think. How is the riding around here? Is the whole Hiawatha Na. forest open to snowmobiling or is there a lot of private land that you need to stay away from? Is there a lot of logging roads and open forests to ride like the western UP? How hard are they to find? I was thinking of riding out of Munising. Which direction should I go from there. I think it would be fun to explore some new area.

I'm not looking for anyone to give away their "secret spot", just looking for general ideas & spots that I can't go because it would be trespassing.

thanks in advance.

D
Dec 19, 2008