• Don't miss out on all the fun! Register on our forums to post and have added features! Membership levels include a FREE membership tier.

Shopping for a snowmobile

P
Dec 15, 2018
For the sake of my budget, skill level and perhaps reliability iam considering a used ski-doo? With all the turbo craze and new platforms Zada Zada and the supply chain stuff. I've been seeing very low mile 19,20 and 2021 ski doo sleds reasonably priced. I have no experience and iam a new rider but I am hooked on deep snow and I'd like a capable mountain sled. I have no brand affiliation or real world opinions on handling or reliability but I'd rather have a low mile sled than a high milage or a 15 to 20k dollar sled. I know everyone has an opinion and hopefully you'd share pros and cons. Iam new last year and have a 2016 m6000. Live in Montana and wanna ski access and try to learn hop overs lol. I've just found way more low mile reasonably priced ski doos than all others. Yes I know polaris is the cool kid turbo but I have a long long way to go before I can handle a slash style snowmobile. Thanks Charlie

D
Mar 13, 2014
I have only owned and mostly rode Ski Doo. I have been on all the Poo sleds over the years and like them. I don't buy into one is far superior to the other personally, it's just getting comfortable on them. I do think the reliability is better with the Ski Doo but if I wanted a Poo I wouldn't not buy it because of that.

C
Jan 14, 2020
A 2016 m6000 is no slouch to be fair.

Budget?

Are you saying you want an 850 or is an 800 okay?

I bought a '21 khaos over the summer. Had it out a few times now and I really like it more than my skidoo 850. Balance is better, can 1 ski it forever on trails or powder.

P
Dec 15, 2018