• Don't miss out on all the fun! Register on our forums to post and have added features! Membership levels include a FREE membership tier.

Humming sound w/vibration.

T
Mar 18, 2013
Just got a 2005 King Cat EFI and really like it a lot, what a monster! Rode it on and off trail this past weekend for 280 miles and noticed a humming/whirring sound that makes my gas tank and handgrips buzz slightly at speed. It's hard to explain exactly but it's loud enough to hear over a MBRP can. I'm new to this machine and not sure if it's normal or not. Could the track be too tight, or maybe the driveshaft bearing going out? The sled has 1800 miles and is stock except for the can.

A

Arctic Thunder

Dec 7, 2001
Lewiston, Idaho
When you get off the trail the front suspension (in the skid) drops down as the snow gets soft. If your limiter straps are all the way out the track will vibrate and slap the hyfax at the front of the skid. You can suck up the limiter strap a bit and it will be much better. Also when you start pointing it uphill with the loose strap the front end on the old girl will be WAY in the air. Super fun to ride like this but you really loose control and honestly unless you have major HP mods you will loose some height on a climb with the front end that far in the air.

Thunder

Rixster

Premium Member
Oct 20, 2005
Springville, UT
Could be your PTO side drive shaft bearing. It seams like my 900 ate one ever other year. Got to the point that changing that bearing was part of the preseason maintenance.

D

diggerdown

Apr 25, 2004
Deer Park Wi.
Also check your hyfax wear by the front rail cross bar. If you can slide a 1/2" wrench over it the track nubs will rub on the cross bar. You do get a little noise and vibs from the anti ratchets.

T
Mar 18, 2013