• Don't miss out on all the fun! Register on our forums to post and have added features! Membership levels include a FREE membership tier.

Changing Oil and Chain on a 2000 800 RMK

C
May 9, 2008
Hi there -

I am new to sledding this year am having a blast. I bought 3 different used sleds for myself and family to enjoy one of which is a 2000 800 RMK.

Anyways my question is can someone walk me through the steps to change the Oil in the chaincase.

Also I am thinking I should maybe put in a new chain since I hae no idea how old the other is. I assume these are both easy jobs.

Any tips/advice would be appreciated. Thanks so much for your time.

Kevin

J

jaysonfreerider

Jul 18, 2008
Troy, MT
on my 2000 600 rmk has a drain plug under the chain case. it takes an allen wrinch to get it out so im assumming yours would be the same. pull the plug, let it drain out and then fill it back up and your done!

jayson

L
Mar 13, 2004
Lake Cle Elum, WA
And, to change the chain:
1) Drain the case
2) Remove exhaust by pulling the spring off
3) Remove the chaincase cover by pulling the bolts.
4) Back off adjuster to remove chain
5) Replace chain and adjust tension
6) New gasket on chaincase cover and don't over-torque the bolts.

A chain should last about 4,000 miles unless the sled has been ridden hard or ran low on chain lube. Check sprockets and bearing while in there.....

C
May 9, 2008
Thanks guys I knew it had to be easy,

One more question, I have a minor oil leak, (ie. one drop every day or so on my garage floor) thought it would be the chaincase gasget, but when I acually started pulling things apart I traced it to be coming from below the air intake box. I took it of and sure enough there is minor oil coming out of the four holes at the bottom of the air intake.

I am confident this is not normal - so I would appreciate any thoughts on this as I am totally at a loss.