• Don't miss out on all the fun! Register on our forums to post and have added features! Membership levels include a FREE membership tier.

Carb jetting/help

L
Nov 11, 2014
Hey all new to the forum and sleds, just picked up a 2002 rmk 800, previous owner said they have it jetted for the mountains, now my question is, this season I'm not to sure if I'll make a mountain trip as I am new to the sport and want to get some time and feel for the sled, I plan on riding out at my buddies cabin which is lake isle, near Edmonton Alberta, as well as the Pembina river, my question is do I have to adjust the jets or can I leave it in the mountain set up? Also is this somthing hard to do?

turbolover

Enduring the heat till Braap Season
Staff member
Lifetime Membership
Jul 4, 2001
Rigby, Idaho
If he has it jetted for high elevation it will melt pistons at low elevation. The jets don't allow enough fuel and it will run to hot.
I know that sounds backward. Too little fuel (lean) is hot. Too much fuel (rich) is cold.
The fuel actually keeps the exhaust cooler so it won't melt things.
Changing the jetting isn't hard if you are mechanically inclined at all.
Turn off the fuel.
Pull the airbox, should just be a rubber strap or several holding it in place.
Then the carburetors each have a screw that holds the clamp around the rubber carb boot.. Loosen those and pull the carbs loose. That should be a rack carb. (One piece unit) You can rotate it upside down. Don't kink any of the cables. There should be an access drain on the bottom of each carb. (it will have a short stubby hose on it)
Inside will be a 1/4 inch brass jet with a hole in it. Remove that. DONT lose the little brass washer.
Ask a dealer or a mechanic what the jetting and clutching specs should be. Put the new bigger jet in and replace everything.
Box or bag your parts so when you do go to the mountains you have em.
You will also new to replace the clutch weights and spring to better perform at your elevation.