• Don't miss out on all the fun! Register on our forums to post and have added features! Membership levels include a FREE membership tier.

700 cylinders on a 2004 600 engine

donbrown

Lifetime Membership
Nov 26, 2007
Los Angeles
Just want to start this discussion real basic to see the pro's and con's of taking a 2004 RMK 600 engine and replace the cylinders with 700 cylinders.

What needs to be done in detail?

Different pipe/can.

Rejet the carb to?

anything else?

donbrown

Lifetime Membership
Nov 26, 2007
Los Angeles
Im no expert but i dont think it will wor. The 600 is a small block and the 700 Is a big block engine.

People have done it.

People on here have said they bolt right on while others say it takes just a tad bid of engineering.

Are you saying they overbore the existing 600 cylinders to fit a 700 piston?

Last edited:

600xc4me

May 21, 2008
La Crete Alberta
People have done it.

People on here have said they bolt right on while others say it takes just a tad bid of engineering.

Are you saying they overbore the existing 600 cylinders to fit a 700 piston?

o ok, I know I have heard of people swapping newer VES 700 cylinders on to the older big block 600 cases. But never heard of anyone doing that with the motors your talking about. I thought the big block and small block engines had completely different cases? I know the motor mount, mounting is very different. I swapped a complete big block 700 VES into an 01 600 XCSP which came stock with the early small block 600 VES. And the mounting was about two inches off if I remember correctly. Didn't compare the cylinder to case mounting though. But thought it was also quite off? Maybe I'm wrong.

sled_guy

Premium Member
Jul 5, 2001
Riverton, Utah
Can't put 700 bigblock cylinders on the 600 small block.

That's why there is such a thing as a 660. 600 cylinders punched out to fit the 700 pistons and ported accordingly.

sled_guy

donbrown

Lifetime Membership
Nov 26, 2007
Los Angeles