• Don't miss out on all the fun! Register on our forums to post and have added features! Membership levels include a FREE membership tier.

Twisted '09 M8 Turbo Questions

S

Snofreak3

Aug 13, 2012
Utah
www.facebook.com
Just got an '09 M8 with a pump gas twisted turbo. Just 1200 on the sled. Top end redone a couple hundred ago with forged pistons. This guy really knew what he was doing. I am new to turbos, so I just need a few questions answered, from you, I already have been told by him what the specs should be, but I wanna hear your unbiased knowledge.

Target AFR
Water temp
Does running race/pump mix destroy the race fuel?
Do I follow 1 psi of boost to every 1000 feet of elevation?
If I'm at 8-10,000 ft, what's my highest safe boost psi?
How do I have to treat it on the trail, and why?

Thanks!!

av8er

Lifetime Membership
Sep 16, 2006
Kalispell, MT.
Target Afr at WFO is about 12.2-12.5

I run straight Avgas at 10 psi of boost from 4k to 10k , per Staingers recommendation for safe operation, he claims 6-7 psi on Super , 10 psi max on 100 and 12 lbs on 110, if u have c12 or 114 can go up to 14 psi. , Now I know that I could probably run 12 psi above 8K but choose to leave my boost alone at a steady 10 psi, when I first punch it the boost will spike at 11psi, but settle at 10 psi.

as far as fuel mixtures, most of it is by guess and by golly, that is why i run straight avgas, or may choose to run straight Race, but super and race pretty much equals 100 octane when mixed 50/50. but you will get the same quality 100ll all over the world.

Last edited:

Snowmow

Lifetime Membership
Mar 20, 2011
Gillette, Wyoming
My sled was a 2011 m8 162 with a twisted race gas kit using a garret 2876 turbo