• Don't miss out on all the fun! Register on our forums to post and have added features! Membership levels include a FREE membership tier.

New User With Basic Questions

P
May 21, 2012
Utah
Hi! I'm new to the forum and seek opinions on getting my 1st sled. One day, I hope I can be a functional addition to this forum.

I want to use a sled for shuttling skiers & snowboarders up the Utah backcountry (one passenger at a time). I am leaning towards a REV-800. Used ones in my area will often have a 151" track. If that is a sufficient setup, I'd just get a 2nd person seat, and figure a mount for the skis/snowboards, and I'll be all set, right? If you have any opinion on my choice of sled, track, or ski/board mounts, I hope you'll share your thoughts with me. I'm sure the information will be of great value to a newbie ignoramus. Thank you!

polarisfornow

Lifetime Membership
Premium Member
Jun 2, 2008
Beautiful Colorado
I have no experience with backcountry skiing but I do have a fair amount of experience with riding 2 up in the backcountry, usually from broken down sleds etc... And I will say that riding 2 up is a lot harder than just throwing a seat on a mt sled and riding. Even with an experienced rider on the back it usually involves the passenger falling off multiple times. Getting stuck multiple times and just hating life in general. IMO I would consider an AC bearcat or skidoo scandic as they are made to carry people or supplies.

That said I may be way off base on that and totally wrong. But that's my .02.

winter brew

Premium Member
Lifetime Membership
Nov 26, 2007
LakeTapps, Wa.
You might have to wait a while for answers this time of year, but there are many on here who use sleds for ski/snowboard shuttles.
I know many use REV's, they are a great sled.....most I see ride 2-up with a guy on each running board, one runs the throttle the other the brake. 2-up on a seat is OK on the roads, but anything off trail requires standing up and body english.