• Don't miss out on all the fun! Register on our forums to post and have added features! Membership levels include a FREE membership tier.

New to Alaska what Avy and other courses

D

DVarmit

ACCOUNT CLOSED
Apr 11, 2008
Alaska
I am new here.. I have a lot of trail riding experience but this type of riding is all new to me. The last thing I want to do is come all this way and get killed due to stupidity. So, what classes should I take regarding avalanche training and are there any other classes that might save my *** that I should look at taking? I have been online and saw several different groups and classes on Avy training but thought I would get your opinion since well, you live and ride here.:D

AKSNOWRIDER

Lifetime Membership
Dec 25, 2007
anchorage
hey D, glad your here..as for classes we have some of the top rated avy experts in the world living here they put on excellent classes...try this site it should have what you need..I have to get the kids into some classes as well and I could use some updates as well...http://www.cnfaic.org/

Dec 8, 2007
There are numerous AVY level 1 courses offered this time of year. Attend the Beacons for dummies class put on by REI, or one of the Back-country groups. Too many people where $600 beacons and have no idea how to actually use it, during crunch time. That's not the time to be pulling out the instructions, and rest assured if you ride AK backcountry long enough you will be exposed to these situations.

A

aksnomachinechic

Nov 11, 2006
Gr8st Plce; ALASKA!
www.facebook.com
Here's some other sites to check out.

http://www.alaskaavalanche.com/Homepage.html

http://www.nsp.org/nsp2002/edu_template.asp?mode=course_schedule&search=view