• Don't miss out on all the fun! Register on our forums to post and have added features! Membership levels include a FREE membership tier.

900 cat big bores

U
Nov 28, 2007
Alaska
Hi im looking fore guys running a 1100 hooper, 1150 cutler or a 1150 union bay big bore baste off the 900 cat motor. My 1100 hooper :confused: is giving me tuning fits :( any help would be grate THANKS

Mark

I
Nov 26, 2007
I'm no expert....but I did stay at a holiday inn last night.

What are you having trouble with? Clutching, jetting, coolant color choice?

Last edited:

zaxxcmx925

Lifetime Membership
Feb 16, 2005
Low bog

YO MARK I THOUGHT YOU HAD IT FIGURED OUT SATURDAY:D:D
MAYBE NOT,OR IS IT A DEFERENT BOG?:beer;:beer;
MAY BE MORE:beer; AND A SHOT CASK 16 HELP YOU FIGURE IT OUT HE HE:D

U
Nov 28, 2007
Alaska
I'm running a 1100 Hooper with custom fitted jawz pipes i put in a IQr chassis.
the problem I'm getting is a nasty low end bog :confused: when the motor gets hot its like its running on choke it stutters really bad to the point it wont go .but when it over comes it it hall azz .so on the top end it runs really good. i was running 55 pilot jets now I'm down to 35 it helped a lot but the bog is still there :confused: so now i set the needle in the center clip, main jet 500, pilot jet 35,and starter jet at 130 But the dam bog is still there :confused: so i was hoping to compare to some one who runs a big bore in the state. ow yea the carbs are stock bored to 42 .

Thanks

Mark

Last edited:
I
Nov 26, 2007
When you say low end what RPM and throttle position are you at? What fuel are you running? Premix?

U
Nov 28, 2007
Alaska
it has a bog when i grab a hand full o throttle :mad: but when it over comes it it hallz azz :D some times when under load it stutters and has a hard time over coming it:mad: i was running avgas with premix 32-1.

I
Nov 26, 2007
It only bogs when the engine is hot? Airbox or filters? Are you running a thermostat? Exhaust valves?

Last edited:
U
Nov 28, 2007