• Don't miss out on all the fun! Register on our forums to post and have added features! Membership levels include a FREE membership tier.

2016 KX450f Air Fork

J
Dec 28, 2016
Hey guys I have a 2016 Kawasaki KX450f I'm putting a Timbersled on. I just have some questions about my air fork options. I am a mechanic at a bike shop in Colorado and am familiar with the forks. I know the air fork isn't my best option but I am going to run it this year. What kind of pressures are people running. I know the stiffer the better but I have never maxed out my air chambers. Any input would be greatly appreciated.
Thanks in advance!
Jake

peakperf

Lifetime Membership
Nov 28, 2007
Cranbrook, BC
I am running a YZ450FX, my buddy has a 2017 KTM450 with the air forks. 1.5 hours on the bike he hits a cross ditch and compresses the front forks. It then locked at 1/2 of normal travel leaving the ski about 8" lower than the track. Apparently this was a big issue in europe with the aer48 air shocks when they first came out. When the seals are cold and a sudden compression occurs the seal is stiff and fails allowing pressure from the upper and lower chambers to mix. This creates a vacuum inside the shock preventing it from fully extending. The only time the chambers can equalize is at full extension. Bike is still on warranty and this is a known issue so we decided against putting a bottle jack from the ski to the tripletree but that is probably the only way to extend the air fork once the vacuum has been created unless there is a release valve on the bottom of the fork. Either way, your ride that day is done. There will be old school springs inside his forks for the next ride.

• Sad
Reactions: 49dangerrus
N
Mar 21, 2016
NW oregon