• Don't miss out on all the fun! Register on our forums to post and have added features! Membership levels include a FREE membership tier.

'09 X - remove air box?

Wondering if anyone has thought about taking out the whole air box....I was looking at it today and at first thought it was hanging from the headlight shroud and console etc, but it actually appears to hold up the headlight and console and stuff, was thinking that this could be achieved with a tubular aluminum support hoop from the top of the shock towers. Could save some weight and a whole lot of clutter, and then provide room for a big air filter and simple pipe to the intake. Like when I took the stock air intake out of my Mazda 3, was left with about 25lbs of plastic luggage looking stuff and replaced it with a k&n, one bent pipe with a filter on the end.

I'm new to this stuff - so what do you all think? What do you think the sound would be like with an intake like that? Is the stock air box this way only to meet sound emmision standards?

nate

S
Feb 6, 2008
Under the hood of the xp's reminds me of a unibody car everything is holding everything else together and then velcroed to the frame. personally i opted for the timbersled intake, maybe it works better...maybe not. we'll see in the snow.i am a little worried about roll overs though

M
Feb 6, 2008
Rapid City, SD
I also installed the Timbersled air intake. It works great for me. The kits comes with the support brace you're talking about, because yes the air box does hold the headlight assembly in place. The kit removes a lot of plastic & makes some nice room to acctually be able to work on carbs etc. I recently talked too a rep from Ski Doo & he said all of them get their personal sleds home & install this kit too. They can't do it from the factory if they want to pass emmissions.