• Don't miss out on all the fun! Register on our forums to post and have added features! Membership levels include a FREE membership tier.

TPS Adjustment Experiment

S
Jul 18, 2014
This is my first post ever but I really wanted to share my findings with the community. I happened to have access to DW this week and was able to test some of the various theories about this subject.

Here's my experiment:
* First I set my TPS Baseline to .700 using the old school tool with 9V battery approach. The reference wire read 4.99 on the TPS when I was doing this.
* Second I hooked up a fresh 12V battery to the ECM power plug and checked the voltages on both wires with a back probe. The reference wire read 5.03 and the signal was now reading 0.708(.008 higher then what I set it to)
* Third I hooked up DW to the same sled and was surprised to find that DW was only showing 0.698 (which was even lower than when I was using the 9V battery tool)

I am a software engineer who works at hardware electrical levels so I know a couple things about low voltage electricity and this type of sensors. I have also worked as a mechanic in snowmobile shops and still do side jobs out of my garage for Polaris only. The only way I can explain these discrepancies is that the formula for what DW shows(and uses to adjust fuel) is actually something like this.

DW value = Signal wire voltage * (5 / Reference Voltage) * (temp compensation)

My biggest takeaway from all this is that you should NOT use the 12V battery approach unless you plan to compensate for the high reference voltage. If you set your TPS to .700 with a high reference voltage you will make it lean and will have a bad time eventually.