• Don't miss out on all the fun! Register on our forums to post and have added features! Membership levels include a FREE membership tier.

New to the forum and new to the Axys

S
Feb 6, 2010
Howdy! I started riding essentially last year with a '16 Ski-Doo Summit 163". This past week I picked up a '17 Pro RMK 163". It's been a lot of fun riding it and I'm quickly getting the feel for it. (Put just around 100 miles on it this week). A couple questions have come to mind.

1. The rear suspension is definitely different than what I'm used to. Granted, I'm a suspension novice and don't know all the terms yet but when I pick up the back end of the Axys the tunnel raises a good ways before the track lifts, maybe 3-4" worth of movment. When I let it return back it falls quickly and easily then pushing down on the tunnel compresses the shocks but they seem kind of harsh. On smaller jumps I can feel the track bottom out. Is this an excessive sag issue? I should mention that I have the standard Walker Evan coil over shocks. So, if I need to adjust it them, which do I adjust first? I've tried to follow the description in my owners manual but I get confused and they really only talk about piggy back shocks.

2. On my Summit I had to adjust the limiter strap one hole because it was forcing the front end down more than I like. After doing that I was able to turn and carve while going down hills more easily. It feels like my Axys can benefit from a similar adjustment. Thoughts?

3. A buddy who rides a '14 Pro broke the lower quick drive pulley bolt. He suggested that I should swap out the stock ones for new ones since it was a common problem. Is that something that Polaris has fixed/upgraded on newer models?