• Don't miss out on all the fun! Register on our forums to post and have added features! Membership levels include a FREE membership tier.

Diamond Drive oil change: 07 M8

N

neilson

Sep 22, 2008
Eastern Sierra
Hey guys,

After reading far too many posts about blowing up diamond drives, its time for me to flush, drain and replace the oil. However, being my first sled, and sometimes a little mechanically challenged, I’m slightly anxious. I don’t want to find rust filled creamy oil with specs of steel everywhere, but more importantly, I want to do it right. What exactly do I have to do???? So far I’ve bought the arctic cat fluid and the flush. The sled is an 07 M8, so I’m guessing it needs 12oz as it has reverse. After removing the side panel, belt guard and belt, what’s next? What do I need to look out for exactly? I read the post on HCS about removing the entire DD but I don’t think I’m up to that yet. Sorry if this is a complete newb question, but like I said, I’m a little nervous. Thanks!

J

JHG

Jan 29, 2008
Elizabeth, CO/Bozeman, MT
You said you weren't up to removing the DD but I think that's the best way. It's really not that hard, just take your time. There is a bolt in the shaft that you will have to get to through the brake side, just get a socket and long extension and go right through the middle of the brake rotor. I believe it's a 9/16. Other than that, there's just the bolts around the DD behind the secondary, take them off and gently pry the DD out of the frame.