• Don't miss out on all the fun! Register on our forums to post and have added features! Membership levels include a FREE membership tier.

Gps recommendations

R

rigrat

Apr 19, 2008
Alberta
Good day everyone. I plan on purchasing a gps for sledding this winter and would like some recommendations. I am considering the Garmin Rino 530 HCX. I have no experience with a gps and would prefer something easy to use and easy to set up on a sled. Thank you.

polarisfornow

Lifetime Membership
Premium Member
Jun 2, 2008
Beautiful Colorado
i've heard good things about the rino but after a lot of thought i think i am going to get the colorado 400t just because of the color screen and ease of use.

sledboy82

Lifetime Membership
May 29, 2008
Fargo, ND
i just picked up my rino 530 hcx and i love it. bought mine off of ebay brand new for 379.00.

E

Ex-Member

ACCOUNT CLOSED
Mar 14, 2007
Whatever you get, make sure it says "Garmin" on it.

Or "Trimble", if you have a ton of $ to throw around, want cm precision & have a place on your sled for an antenna and controller.

Some of it depends on what you want in a GPS.... The rinos are nice because of the radio feature, but if you have a good radio already just go with a regular GPS.

boone

Premium Member
May 27, 2007
Crazytown!!
Or "Trimble", if you have a ton of $ to throw around, want cm precision & have a place on your sled for an antenna and controller. QUOTE]

Does that include auto-steer and full mapping capabilities ? :D:D

Boone

M
Nov 26, 2007
Garmin

Garmin 60 CSX or 76 CSX are both great if you want just GPS.
Color screen. Super fast to lock in, Great reception in the woods.
Shaped a little different so try holding both.

Headrush

Lifetime Membership
Premium Member
Nov 28, 2007
We roll wif the Garmin eTrex Vista HCX....works awesome!

S
Nov 26, 2007
washington
Gps