• Don't miss out on all the fun! Register on our forums to post and have added features! Membership levels include a FREE membership tier.

Insurance on Mountain Rentals?

ndmeathead

Lifetime Membership
Feb 26, 2009
Do you guys think that its worth it to drop the extra 20$? I've been renting for a few years and have never seen a situation where it was worth it. The way they run the insurance at most places is you have to cover any damage less than $1,000 anyways. I like to think of myself as aggresive but have a hard time thinkin of causing that much damage to plastics/suspension in 1 day.:present:

H
Nov 9, 2001
Lincoln Nebraska
I have personally seen a guy end-oh a sled and twist tunnel. He was not much of real aggressive rider but crap happens. He figured heck I will just buy it and re-tunnel it than re-sell. This thing had 3k miles on it and was only worth tops 3500..rental place stuck him 6800 and the sled was a POS before he crashed it. With that said instead of debating the 20 bux, just buy a sled for 4k and be done.

Last edited:

RMK-King

Super-Moderator
Dec 25, 2007
North Dakota
I always get it,wouldnt be to hard to total a sled by putting a kink in the bulkhead and tunnel from a tree.

Last edited:

motojunkie101

MODERATOR: Premium Member
Staff member
Premium Member
Nov 26, 2007
Sandpoint, Idaho
If you are doing anything other than trail riding I think the insurance would be worth it. Its hard to feed 2 people for 20 bucks, and the peace of mind would be nice. Plus, if you do any back country riding on that rented sled its only a matter of time before you end up wrecking it one way or another.

K
May 18, 2009
Casper Wyoming