• Don't miss out on all the fun! Register on our forums to post and have added features! Membership levels include a FREE membership tier.

800 Q's

C

chevota84

Oct 5, 2008
Okay, I'm pretty new to sledding (2 yrs) and very new to Polaris (1 week) I bought a 2001 rmk 800 151 (now a 162) and have a couple of questions. First in the key switch it has a reg and prem position does this make any difference? I dont have a key (sled wasnt stolen just lost the key) and I was wondering if I should wire it to the prem side constantly? I am assuming that this is advancing the timing 2-4 degrees. Also this sled is stone stock motor wise and I was looking at different pipe setups. I have had good luck with C.P.I. on banshees and was looking at their twins for the sled. Anybody have any experience with these? Tuning issues? I was also planning an going to V-force 3's. Worth it? Or should I just buy good petals. Any other tips and info would be very much appreciated as most of my riding buddies are cat riders. I am aware of the crank issue but I am hoping it will make it through this season because we are getting to close to snow to be sending the motor off for work. Thanks for any help

Flit-e

Lifetime Membership
Dec 3, 2007
Riverton, Mountain View..Wyoming
Welcome to snowest and the sport!!
yes the prem setting just plays with the timing..i would make it run on that setting for optimum performance
and for reeds i have good luck with carbon tech before, and loved my boyesen rad valve on my dirt bike.
for pipes i would put a SLP single on it also do a cheater head, gut the airbox and get the high flow top from SLP remove your speedo and put a big flo-rite in there, then do trail porting and plug the decompression hole.
then just work on cutting weight on it.

P
Mar 12, 2008
sunnyvale trailer park