• Don't miss out on all the fun! Register on our forums to post and have added features! Membership levels include a FREE membership tier.

King Cat track tension

K

KingD

Feb 28, 2008
I was wondering how you go about tightening the track tension on a king cat 162" track. I have never done it before and would like to know how.

There are 2 bolts back by the rear wheels of your skid frame one on each side. What you have to do is loosen the jam nut on that bolts so that you can adjust the track. Once you have that loose adjust your track to about 2 1/2 of gap at 10lbs of weight in the center of the track as a starting point. Some guys like to run them looser some tighter depends on the rider. Once you have the track adjusted where you want it you must make sure it is aligned also. To do this measure the distance between the slider and the track clip. Make sure the distance is the same from one side to the other. If one side is farther away than the other tighten the side that is farthest away. You will need to have the back of the sled up on a jackstand so you can run the sled and spin the track. After adjusting the side that is farthest away from the slider spin the track and let it coast to a stop. Shut the engine off and check the distance again. Once you get it adjusted and aligned tighten the jam nuts and you should be good to go.

Let me know if there is anything else I can help you with

Jeff

K

KingD

Feb 28, 2008
would the track being loose be the cause of the track humming when I am out in the snow?

A

Arctic Thunder

Dec 7, 2001
Lewiston, Idaho